Board of Zoning Appeals

The establishment and organization of the Amherst County Board of Zoning Appeals or BZA is established in the Code of Virginia, Section 15.2-2308. The powers and duties of the BZA are also outlined in the Code of Virginia, Section 15.2-2309.The BZA consists of 5 members appointed to 5 year terms. Each member is appointed by the Judge of the Circuit Court and receives such compensation as may be authorized by the Board of Supervisors, from time to time, by ordinance or resolution.
The BZA is scheduled to meet the second Thursday of each month in the Board of Supervisors meeting room at the Amherst County Administration Building.  To view a schedule of the BZA click here. To download an application for a variance, map interpretation or appeal, click here.
NOTE:  There may be exceptions to these dates so please call the Planning/Zoning Department to confirm.
The current members for the Board of Zoning Appeals are listed below.

Term Ends       
Name & Contact Information
1   02-03-2021
George R. Banton - Chairman
2   02-03-2022
Peter H. Bryan
3   02-03-2020
George W. Wise - Vice-Chairman
4   02-03-2019
Barbara N. Woody
5 02-03-2020
Clarence G. Monday
6   N/A
Jeremy Bryant - Director of Planning/Zoning / BZA Secretary

Annual Reports

Annual Report - 2013

Annual Report - 2012


In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Info

Contact Us

Physical Address
153 Washington St, Amherst, VA 24521
Get Directions
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 390, Amherst, VA 24521
  • Phone: (434) 946-9303
  • Fax: (434) 946-9370
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    Mon through Fri 8:30a.m. - 5:00p.m.