Changes to  Real Estate Taxes is as follows:

  • The Amherst County Board of Supervisors by County Ordinance No. 2021-0008, amended Section 14-26, of Article II, Real Property Tax, Chapter 14, Taxation, to the Code of the County of Amherst relating to the first installment of semi-annual taxes for real property.    The change is the DUE DATE for the first installment, which shall be paid on or before July 1 of each year, beginning with 2022.  The second installment date remains the same – to be paid on or before December 5th of each year.    The Amherst County Board of Supervisors approved this change on September 21, 2021.


                        Real Estate Tax Bills for 2024 will be mailed out on Monday, May 20, 2024

                        The Due Date for the 1st installment Real Estate 2024 Bills is Monday, July 1, 2024


The Treasurer is the Chief Financial Officer for the locality, collecting taxes and local fees, and making payments on behalf of the local government.  The Treasurer is responsible for every form of revenue, be it local, state or federal, that comes to the locality.
The primary functions of a county treasurer can be grouped into three major categories:

  • receipt and collection of revenue
  • safekeeping of the revenue
  • appropriate accounting for and disbursement of revenue

The Treasurer is one of five locally elected Constitutional Officers.  The elected post of Treasurer was created in the Virginia Constitution of 1870.  The Treasurer's independent status as an elected official ensures that local funds will be collected, invested, and spent by an officer who reports directly to the people.

Pursuant to VA Code 2.2-3704.2 The Freedom Of Information (FOIA) Officer For the Amherst County Treasurer’s Office is Joanne Adams Carden.  or at 434-946-9318

In this Department

More Information

Contact Us

Joanne Carden
Joanne Carden, Treasurer/Chief FOIA Officer
Physical Address
100 Goodwin St, Amherst, VA 24521
Get Directions
Mailing Address
, P.O. Box 449, VA,  24521
  • Phone: (434) 946-9318
  • Fax: (434) 946-9402
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    8:30 AM - 5:00 PM