Board of Supervisors


The mission of Amherst County's government is to provide limited, efficient and effective government services that promote liberty and a high quality of life for our citizens.  We are a County open for business in a secure community dedicated to providing a superior work force through investments in education and economic development.  Our citizens expect and we deliver a fiscally responsible and transparent government.


Amherst County will.....

  1. Have the resources and infrastructure that promotes business growth
  2. Achieve excellence in academic and vocational education
  3. Have a sustainable and efficient government that respects personal liberties
  4. Promote and protect its natural beauty, agricultural economy and recreational opportunities


  1. Transparent, open government 
  2. Fiscal responsibility 
  3. Quality education
  4. Safe and secure community
  5. Promote a sense of liberty
  6. Limited, efficient and effective government 

Meeting Schedule

All meetings of the county Board of Supervisors are held in the County Administrators Building at Second and Washington streets unless otherwise noted.  Meetings are regularly held on the first and third Tuesday of each month. At the first meeting of the month, the Board of Supervisors convenes at 1:00 PM. The Board meets informally for lunch during the period from 12:00 noon to 1:00 PM in the meeting room for the Board of Supervisors in the County Administration building.

Board Members

Ken Campbell Supervisor - District 2

Ken Campbell

Supervisor - District 1

Phone: 434-946-7359

Claudia Tucker

Supervisor - District 2, Chair

Phone: 434-277-5059

Jimmy Ayers

Jimmy Ayers

Supervisor - District 3, Vice-Chairman

Phone: 434-907-2340

David Pugh, Jr. 

Supervisor - District 4

Phone: 434-509-2038

Supervisor - District 5

Jennifer R Moore

Supervisor - District 5

Phone: 434-420-0794

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Information

Contact Us

Amherst, VA,  24521
Get Directions