Draft Meeting Minutes November 2021

Canvass Minutes

The Amherst County Electoral Board met on November 3 – 5, 2021 to canvass the votes of the General and Special Election. All three members were present: Teresa Almond – Chairman, Kenneth Branham – Vice Chair and Wanda Spradley, Secretary. Also in attendance was Fran Brown, Registrar and representative for Youngkin's Campaign Office and Vance Wilkins, Amherst County Republican Party, Chairman.

The Board began the meeting with discussion and opening of Provisional Ballots. There were 8 provisional ballots casted on November 2 in the General and Special Election, November 2, 2021. The precincts were as follows:

Madison – 3

Amelon - 1

Monroe – 1

Elon – 1

Coolwell – 1

New Glasglow – 1

Six Provisionals were accepted and counted. Two provisional were denied.

The board continued its canvass on Friday, November 5, 2021 the results are as follows:

Office of Governor

Glenn A. Youngkin – R - 9,731

Terry R. McAuliffe – D - 3,987

Princess L. Balding – Lib.- 72

Write - In 6 votes

Lieutenant Governor

Winsome E. Sears - R - 9,624

Hala S. Ayala – D _ 4,004

Write – In 10 votes

Attorney General

Jason S. Miyares – R - 9,607

Mark R. Herring – D - 4,015

Write In - 7 votes

Member, House of Delegates (23rd)

Wendell S. Walker - R_ 2665

Natalie A. Short – D - 1,421

Write In 13 votes

Member, House of Delegates (24th)

Ronnie R. Campbell – R - 7,480

Sam R. Soghor – D - 2,549

Write In 9 votes

Member, School Board at Large

Abby J. Thompson 7,897

Melissa K. "Leecy" Fink – 4,640

Write In 165 votes

Member, Board of Supervisors (District 2)

Claudia Duck Tucker - I- 1764

R.A. "Tony" Robertson – 866

Write In 22 votes

Member, Board of Supervisors (District 5)

M. Drew Wade - I – 1,794

Write In 37 votes

Member, School Board, (District 2)

Dawn N. Justice 1,534

David E. Emmert 1,003

Write In 24 votes

Member, School Board (District 5)

Eric J. Orasi 1,758

Write In 41 votes

OffTrack Pari-Mutuel Wagering

Yes 6,189

No 7,293

The above totals were certified and reported to State Board of Elections as final.

Meeting adjourned.

Submitted by

Wanda Spradley, Secretary, Electoral Board