



COUNTY OF AMHERST

Public Information Officer AMHERST COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 153 WASHINGTON STREET P. O. Box 390 AMHERST, VIRGINIA 24521

TELEPHONE (434) 946-9400 FACSIMILE (434) 946-9370

For Immediate Release

Amherst County Service Authority Board Elects New Chair and Vice Chair

On September 1, 2020, the Amherst County Service Authority Board (ACSA) met for the first time with new Board members Wesley Woods and Turner Perrow. Mr. Woods and Mr. Perrow replaced elected County Supervisors Claudia Tucker and Jimmy Ayers on the ACSA Board. Though the Board of Supervisors voted to add citizen members to the ACSA Board after a public hearing during its August 18, 2020 meeting, the preparations to make the legal change to the Board structure took almost a year to finalize. The change was driven by the Economic Development Authority's Business Friendliness Initiative to make system changes within local government that would be beneficial to local businesses. Changing the structure of the ACSA Board was one of the recommendations.

David Pugh, Jennifer Moore and Tom Martin are the elected Supervisors still serving on the ACSA Board. The Board elected Ms. Moore to serve as Chair and David Pugh as Vice Chair. They will serve in these positions until January 1, 2021.

Additional information may be obtained from Joy Niehaus at <u>jlniehaus@countyofamherst.com</u> or (434)-946-9400.

September 3, 2020